NWT election will see three acclamations and 22 women on the ballot

Monfwi MLA Jackson Lafferty, Hay River North MLA RJ Simpson, and Mackenzie Delta MLA Frederick Blake Jr. will all be acclaimed on Oct 1st. (Photos retrieved from the Legislative Assembly website).

Three NWT MLA’s will be acclaimed in the October 1st territorial election. After nominations closed on Friday afternoon it was revealed Speaker and Monfwi MLA Jackson Lafferty will be acclaimed for a second consecutive term. Sonny Blake is also unopposed in the Mackenzie Delta, and RJ Simpson in Hay River North will also be acclaimed.

Premier Bob McLeod, currently the longest serving premier in Canada will not be seeking re-election in Yellokwnife South. He quietly told media he would not be running again.

Bob McLeod leaving the Legislative Assembly floor for the final time as Premier and MLA. (John McFadden/CKLB photo).

Yellowknife North MLA and incumbent candidate Cory Vanthuyne says he was surprised by the lack of formal announcement from McLeod.

In total there are 22 female candidates, a record number of women on the ballot in the NWT. Visit the Elections NWT website for information on all 58 confirmed candidates seeking election October 1st.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Start your morning with the Splash on Denendeh Sunrise from 7:30-8:30am. Campbell was trained and mentored by longtime CKLB host and Gwich'in entertainer William Greenland. Prior to hosting the morning show and filling in on the Saturday Request Show, he had stints in the Yukon on CKRW the Rush, CBC North in Yellowknife, and began his broadcasting career at CJCD Mix 100. Before moving North he was born and raised on the banks of the Tobique River, the traditional territory of the Wolastoqiyik, Tobique Maliseet First Nation.