Candidates announced for Monfwi by-election

(File photo/CKLB).

Four candidates are running to be the MLA of Monfwi for the Legislative Assembly.

The candidates announced in a press release by Elections NWT are: 

  • Jane Armstrong
  • John J. Gon
  • Kelvin Kotchilea
  • James Wah-Shee

Polling day for the by-election will be July 27.

Early voting in Behchokǫ̀ begins on July 5 at the office of the Returning Officer in Behchoko.

There will also be early voting in Gamètì, Wekweètì and Whatì on July 20, from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Voters unable to attend early voting or polling day can apply for mail-in absentee ballots

Applications for absentee ballots are currently open and will remain open until July 17. 

The seat for Monfwi became vacant when Jackson Lafferty resigned from the position on June 4. He held the seat for 16 years.

About the Author

Luke Carroll
Luke Carroll is a journalist originally from Brockville, Ont. He has previously worked as a reporter and editor in Ottawa, Halifax and New Brunswick. Luke is a graduate of Carleton University's bachelor of journalism program. If you have a story idea, feel free to send him an email at