Students gather from across NWT for Youth Parliament

(File photo/CKLB).

Starting on Monday, the 17th session of the territory’s youth parliament will take place. Nineteen high school students from across the NWT, each representing their riding, will participate in three days of meetings and briefings.

In a news release, the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) says the program is to help educate youth on consensus government.

Of the 19 participants, 17 of them are young women, which falls in line with the GNWT’s push to see more women in the legislature.

On Thursday, May 9, at 1:30 p.m. the delegates will participate in their own session at the Legislative Assembly. During the session, each member will have the opportunity to read a statement and will debate three motions chosen by the group.

Below is a list of participants and their riding:

Deh Cho – Ms. Marie Carpenter                                Frame Lake – Mr. Malcolm Deans

Great Slave – Ms. Emilie Gauldreault                        Hay River North – Ms. Madison Beck

Hay River South – Ms. Crystal Kisakye                       Inuvik Boot Lake – Ms. Cassidy Lennie-Ipana

Inuvik Twin Lakes – Ms. Keely Voudrach                    Kam Lake – Ms. Stella Smyslo

Mackenzie Delta – Ms. Charleigh Blake                    Monfwi – Ms. Magen Rabesca

Nahendeh – Ms. Ava Erasmus                                    Nunakput – Ms. Chantal Kataoyak Malogokak

Range Lake – Ms. Peo Boitumelo                               Sahtu – Ms. Gosahte Bird

Thebacha – Ms. Felicity Beaulieu                               Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh – Ms. Tanesha Norn

Yellowknife North – Mr. Ryyan Awan                        Yellowknife Centre – Ms. Tori Haogak

Yellowknife South – Ms. Abagail MacDonald

About the Author

Francis Tessier-Burns
Francis was a reporter with CKLB from January 2019 to March 2023. In his time with CKLB, he had the immense pleasure and honour of learning about northern Indigenous cultures.