Deninu Kųę́ First Nation set for election

Two candidates for chief and four candidates for council have submitted their nominations

(Photo courtesy of Facebook)

Election season kicks off in Deninu Kųę́ First Nation this month.

Nominations for chief and council closed on June 13.

Incumbent Chief Louis Balsillie will face off against Gordon Beaulieu for the role of chief. Four candidates are running for three council seats. These include former Fort Resolution Mayor Patrick Simon, Diane Giroux, Bradley King, and Sharon Lafferty.

Advanced polling will be held next Thursday, June 22, while the election will take place one week later on June 29. Each day, voting will take place at the Deninu Kųę́ Development Corporation Office Complex from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Anyone with questions is asked to contact Chief Electoral Officer Lisa Tudor at 1-867-394-4024 or at

About the Author

Ian Down
Ian Down is a general news reporter from the West Island of Montreal. After studying journalism and computer science at Concordia University, he came to Yellowknife in 2021, joining the CKLB team in September 2022. When not behind his desk, you can find him at a local Yellowknife poetry reading, or annoying his roommates by playing his clarinet at odd hours. Feel free to reach out with any tips or story ideas at, or follow him on Twitter at @IanDown1996.