Yellowknife election results

Voter turnout was 48 per cent

Yellowknife City Hall (File photo/CKLB)

There will be six new faces on Yellowknife city council following Monday’s municipal election.

Incumbent Rob Warburton garnered the most votes with 2.172 ballots followed by newcomer Cat McGurk with 2,132.

Councillor Stacie Smith returns for her second term while incumbent Steve Payne has been re-elected for a third time.

Councillor Rommel Silverio failed to make the cut with 1,080 votes.

The other new faces on council are Tom McLennan, Garett Cochrane, Ryan Fequet, Steve Payne and Ben Henrickson.

Mayor Rebecca Alty is back for her second term after winning by acclamation.

Voter turnout was 48 per cent with 3,939 of the 8,190 eligible voters casting ballots.


Candidate Elected/Not Elected Number of Votes Counted Rank
Rob Warburton Elected 2,172 1
Cat McGurk Elected 2,132 2
Stacie Smith Elected 2,116 3
Tom McLennan Elected 1,883 4
Garett Cochrane Elected 1,831 5
Ryan Fequet Elected 1,711 6
Steve Payne Elected 1,642 7
Ben Hendriksen Elected 1,564 8
Rob Foote Not Elected 1,444 9
Dwayne Simmons Not Elected 1,093 10
Rommel Silverio Not Elected 1,080 11
Devon Hodder Not Elected 1,059 12
Mike Martin Not Elected 1,030 13
Beaton MacKenzie Not Elected 917 14
Stewart Pallard Not Elected 691 15
John Fredericks Not Elected 623 16