Youth Parliament participants announced

(File photo/CKLB)

If any of these students get into politics, they’ll have at least one day of experience in office.

The Legislative Assembly has announced participants in the upcoming Youth Parliament. The session brings together grade 9 and 10 students from each constituency for a week-long program, ending with a mock session where the students will debate motions.

Here is who will be representing each constituency:

Deh Cho Sommer Bonnetrouge
Frame Lake Nestor Grey
Great Slave Cassidy Comeau
Hay River North Julianne Groenewegen
Hay River South Corrinne Smith
Inuvik Boot Lake Tessa Jenks
Inuvik Twin Lakes Jade Inuaslurak
Kam Lake Isha Jha
Mackenzie Delta Coby Elanik
Mǫwhì Leah Grosco
Nahendeh Ethan Norwegian
Nunakput Anara King
Range Lake Sara Morris
Sahtu Kate Kelly
Thebacha Naomi Rhymer
Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh Paris Drybones
Yellowknife Centre William Loewen
Yellowknife North Jaedenz White
Yellowknife South Aubrey Sluggett

The mock session will be on May 12, starting at 1:30 p.m.

Family and friends will be able to watch from the public gallery at the legislative assembly building. The session will also be broadcast on all of the assembly’s channels on television and social media.