Jane Weyallon Armstrong elected as Monfwi MLA

Jane Weyallon Armstrong (second from right) is the member-elect for the Monfwi riding. She's seen here in a 2019 photo at a Native Women's Association of the NWT news conference following the release of the final report by the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Inquiry. At the time, Caroline Wawzonek (right) was working with the association as its lawyer. (File photo/CKLB)

Jane Weyallon Armstrong has been elected to represent the Tłı̨chǫ people in the Legislative Assembly as the member-elect for the Monfwi riding.

According to unofficial results, Weyallon Armstrong received 503 votes — about double the number of votes for runner-up Kelvin Kotchilea.

John Gon and James Wah-Shee received 98 and 77 votes, respectively.

Weyallon Armstrong’s election continues a trend of more women in leadership positions in the Tłı̨chǫ region. Earlier this year, Doreen Arrowmaker was elected as Gamètì’s new chief and Adeline Football became the chief of Wekweètì.

“I am pleased to welcome the Member-elect to the Assembly and look forward to working with them for the benefit of all our people,” said Speaker Frederick Blake Jr. in a statement.

Weyallon Armstrong is taking over the Monfwi seat after former MLA Jackson Lafferty announced his resignation in early June. He’d spent 16 years as the Monfwi MLA.

Weyallon Armstrong previously served as the president of the Native Women’s Association of the NWT.

She will be officially sworn in on Aug. 5, at 3 p.m. in the Legislative Assembly.

About the Author

Francis Tessier-Burns
Francis was a reporter with CKLB from January 2019 to March 2023. In his time with CKLB, he had the immense pleasure and honour of learning about northern Indigenous cultures.