Competitive year for Dene National Chief election, 6 candidates listed

Residents may vote online or in person at the Dene National Assembly on July 24, 2024

From top left to bottom right: Norman Yak’e ula, April Martel, George Mackenzie, Gerald Antoine, Paulie Chinna and Gerry Cheezie. (Photo courtesy of CKLB Radio)

Six candidates are nominated for the position of Dene National Chief and Regional Chief for the Assembly of First Nations.

The list includes current Dene National Chief Gerald Antoine, his predecessor Norman Yak’e ula, former MLA of the NWT Paulie Chinna, Tłı̨chǫ Grand Chief George Mackenzie, Kátł’odeeche First Nation Chief April Martel and the health and social services chair Gerry Cheezie.

Nominations opened on April 26 and closed on May 24, evaluated by the Office of the Returning Officer.

The election will be a hybrid of in-person and electronic voting, available from July 14 to July 24, 2024.

In-person voting will take place at the Dene National Assembly in Rádı̨lı̨ Kóé, Sahtu Dene Territory (Fort Good Hope) on July 24, 2024.

About the Author

Josie Jiaxuan Wu
Josie Jiaxuan Wu is a multimedia journalist with a focus on cultural diversity, social justice and human interest stories. She graduated from the University of British Columbia with a Master of Journalism degree. Through her storytelling, she strives to improve the representation of marginalized communities. For story ideas, Josie welcomes inquiries via emails at