3 candidates running for Tłı̨chǫ grand chief

Tłı̨chǫ citizens at this year's annual general assembly. (Marie Rose Blackduck/CKLB)

The three candidates vying to become the next Tłı̨chǫ grand chief include a former grand chief, the incumbent, and a former MLA.

Eddie Erasmus, George Mackenzie and Jackson Lafferty were all nominated for the position.

To be eligible, Tłı̨chǫ election law states you must be a Tłı̨chǫ citizen, be at least 25-years old and been a resident on Tłı̨chǫ land for at least two years prior to nomination.

Each candidate needs to be nominated by a Tłı̨chǫ citizen, accept the nomination and then have 20 other citizens second the nomination.

Eligible voters must be a Tłı̨chǫ citizen, be at least 18-years old, and been living within Tłı̨chǫ land for at least the past two years.

Election day is Sept. 30.

Other important dates include:

  • Sept. 1: Mail-in ballots begin
  • Sept. 10: Mobile poll
  • Sept. 13-16: Voting at the Office of the Registrar
  • Sept. 17: Advance poll

About the Author

Francis Tessier-Burns
Francis was a reporter with CKLB from January 2019 to March 2023. In his time with CKLB, he had the immense pleasure and honour of learning about northern Indigenous cultures.