2019 Wise Women Awards presented

(Photo Courtesy of the Status of Women Council of the NWT)

Five women from across the NWT were recognized and given the annual honours of being called wise on Friday.

The recipients are: Eunice Nasogalauk, Lois Philipp, Bertha Rabesca Zoe, Vicky Orlais, Betty Harnum, and Tina McNeill.

The women were honoured for their contributions to the Territory, from helping teach youth on the land, to advocating for people experiencing homelessness, and preserving traditional languages, culture and practices.

The Status of Women Council of the NWT honours Six women annually with these awards. This year’s celebration was held at the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Start your morning with the Splash on Denendeh Sunrise from 7:30-8:30am. Campbell was trained and mentored by longtime CKLB host and Gwich'in entertainer William Greenland. Prior to hosting the morning show and filling in on the Saturday Request Show, he had stints in the Yukon on CKRW the Rush, CBC North in Yellowknife, and began his broadcasting career at CJCD Mix 100. Before moving North he was born and raised on the banks of the Tobique River, the traditional territory of the Wolastoqiyik, Tobique Maliseet First Nation.