Government closes one territorial park, bans fires at four others due to wildfire threat

Photo courtesy of Parks NWT

The Government of the Northwest Territories has closed one territorial park and enacted fire bans at four other parks – all in the South Slave region – due to the threat of wildfires as well as extremely dry forest conditions.

According to a news release from the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment (ITI) issued Wednesday, the 60th Parallel Territorial Park on Highway 1, just north of the Alberta boundary, has been closed until further notice.

The NWT Parks website states it actually closed Monday.

Fire bans are now in place at Queen Elizabeth Territorial Park in Fort Smith, Hay River Territorial Park, Little Buffalo Falls Territorial Park on Highway 5, northwest of Fort Smith and Twin Falls Territorial Park in Enterprise.

The government states that camp stoves, enclosed barbecues and propane-fueled cooking and heating devices are permitted.

They must be placed within regulation fire pits and should not emit a flame more than a half metre in diameter and height.

Stubborn wildfires have been plaguing Northern Alberta for the better part of a month now forcing several evacuation orders, many of those affecting Indigenous communities

Thankfully, no wildfire-related deaths or injuries have been reported.

About the Author

John McFadden
John has been in the broadcast journalism industry since the 1980s. He has been a reporter in Yellowknife since 2012 and joined CKLB in January of 2018. John covers the crime and court beat as well as reporting on other areas including politics, business, entertainment and sports. He won seven national community newspaper awards while he was a journalist with Northern News Services Limited (NNSL). John worked in Ontario before coming North including stints as a TV sportscaster in Peterborough and senior news writer for CBC and CTV in downtown Toronto.