Women rule in NWT municipal elections

Rebecca Alty is the new mayor of Yellowknife(Photo courtesy of Facebook)

Municipal voters in the NWT’s six largest communities have spoken and its women who rule the day.

Females are now mayors in four of the largest centres in the territory.

That comes after Monday’s municipal elections.

In Yellowknife, two-term councillor Rebecca Alty is the new mayor, defeating fellow councillor Adrian Bell who finished a relatively close second.

Newcomers Bob Stewart and Jerald Sibbeston both finished well back.

Alty had 2,938 votes to Bell’s 2,210.

Alty becomes the city’s second female mayor following in the footsteps of Pat McMahon who held the position for two terms from 1988 to 1994.

There are three new councillors in Yellowknife.

They are: Stacie Smith, Cynthia Mufandaedza and Robin Williams.

Incumbents Shauna Morgan, Julian Morse, Steve Payne, Niels Konge and Rommel Silverio were all re-elected.

Voters in Yellowknife also voted in favour of extending council’s term from three years to four.

Elsewhere in the territory:

Lynn Napier Buckley was re-elected mayor of Fort Smith.

Natasha Kulikowski is the new mayor of Inuvik.

Kandis Jameson was unopposed and is Hay River’s new mayor.

The men who ran successfully for mayor Monday were Sean Whelly in Fort Simpson and Frank Pope in Norman Wells.





Be the first to comment on "Women rule in NWT municipal elections"

Leave a comment