Whitehorse re-elects Dan Curtis and two new Councillors

KDFN Chief Doris Bill, Mayor Dan Curtis, and TKFN Chief Kristina Kane. (Facebook)

Dan Curtis was elected to a third term as the Mayor of Whitehorse last night.

Curtis won by quite a margin, early results indicating he received over a 1000 more votes than his closest competitor, Rick Karp a longtime businessman and former executive director of the Whitehorse Chamber of Commerce.

Curtis received a large amount of support from the Indigenous community, and from both the Kwanlin Dun First Nation and the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council.

Rejoining Curtis on council are: Samson Hartland, Dan Boyd and Jocelyn Curteanu. Leading the vote tally were three others, former NDP MLA Jan Stick, and newcomers Steve Roddick and Laura Cabott.

“I felt like I had the community behind me, it’s very humbling for me, because you always second guess what you’re doing, and perhaps you could and should be doing better,” said Curtis last night.

Curtis was instrumental in the signing of a Commitment to work on reconciliation and partnership projects with both First Nations in Yukon’s capital region.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Campbell is back as the host of the new CKLB Morning show the Breakfast Club. Before moving north in 2007, he graduated from Loyalist College's Broadcast Journalism Program.

Be the first to comment on "Whitehorse re-elects Dan Curtis and two new Councillors"

Leave a comment