Candidates announced for Teetl’it Gwich’in council election

(Image retrieved from Teetl'it Gwich'in Band website)

Two people are running for chief of the Teetl’it Gwich’in Band Council: Richard John Blake and Elizabeth Wright.

Blake previously ran to become Gwich’in grand chief two years ago; Wright has previously served as sub-chief and chair of the Gwich’in Land and Water Board.

As for councillors, 13 people have put their name forward:

  • Glen Alexie
  • Richard John Blake
  • Larry Firth
  • Robert Greenland
  • Priscilla Itsi
  • Phillip Joseph Kay
  • Brian Dean Martin
  • Ruby McDonald
  • Kathy Nerysoo
  • Richard Nerysoo
  • Trina Nerysoo
  • Kyla Ross
  • Billy Wilson

About the Author

Francis Tessier-Burns
Francis has been a general news reporter with CKLB since January 2019. Originally from rural Ontario, he first came to the NWT in 2016 as an intern with Up Here magazine and fell in love with the North. In his time with CKLB, he's had the immense pleasure and honour of learning about northern Indigenous cultures. Otherwise, you can find him hanging around the Legislative Assembly. If you have a story or want to chat, reach out to