MLAs appoint new chief electoral officer

(Mariah Caruso/CKLB)

Stephen Dunbar has been appointed the Northwest Territories Chief Electoral Officer.

This was announced in the third sitting of the Legislative Assembly on Nov. 24.

The electoral officer is responsible for overseeing general elections, by-elections and plebiscites in the territory.

His term is set to expire by March 31, 2025.

The house has spoken

Speaker of the house, Frederick Blake Jr. declared the seat for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh vacant after an empty apology and resignation from the MLA.

Although Norn declared his resignation mid-debate, the speaker continued, saying his resignation was “ambiguous, and they lacked the clarity needed to give that resignation full effect.”

“I will say that I will resign. I will prevent you from making this vote. I will save you that. I will do that and do you that honor. And I — and that I could feel the will of the people in this room, and I will respect that.”

Norn’s resignation was not accepted, putting the question back in the hands of the house.

A unanimous vote of 17 – 0 voted to declare Norn’s seat vacant.

About the Author

Mariah Caruso
Mariah Caruso is a digital journalist, originally from Toronto, Canada. She graduated from the University of Toronto with a Hons. Bachelor of Arts and completed her Journalism post-grad at Sheridan College. She has an insatiable appetite for life, storytelling, connecting to the people, and getting to the heart of the issue. Mariah is excited to begin her journey and career in Yellowknife, NWT, and get involved with the community. If you have a story idea, feel free to send her an email at or call 867-766-2552 Ext 108