NWT municipal election results: Fred Daniels named new mayor of Fort Smith, other community mayors acclaimed

The election results are in for the 2021 municipal elections in five NWT communities.

On Monday, residents elected councillors in Inuvik, Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Hay River, Norman Wells – and a new mayor in Fort Smith.

Fort Smith

Fred Daniels succeeded Jessica Cox in running for the position of mayor with 450 votes. Cox is close behind him with a count of 426 votes.

“We all have lots of work ahead of us. But working together we can do anything. Because we’re Fort Smithers,” he said in a social media post. 

The councillors voted to the position are Ann Pischinger, Jay MacDonald, Dana Fergusson, Kevin Heron, Leonard Tuckey, Kevin Campbell, Louise Beaulieu, and Dianna Korol.

The tentative District Education Authority (DEA) positions were filled by Laura Abrey, Hilary Turko and Roger Vail.

Norman Wells

Frank Pope has already been acclaimed for the position of mayor.

According to the town’s certificate of results, the voter turnout was at 68 per cent.

The councillors voted in are Pascal Audet, Kacee Hunter, Kelly McCoy, Alexis Peachy, Trevor Smith and David Wever.

The DEA positions are filled by Shauna Spilchak, Shannon Audet, Sarah Baker, Tamara McNeely, Katrina Rose and Dorathy Wright.


Clarence Wood has already been acclaimed to the position of mayor.

Wood takes over the position from Natasha Kulikowski after she decided to run for council instead.

The elected councillors are Donovan Arey, Tony Devlin, Jesse Harder, Grant Gowans, Natasha Kulikowski, Alana Mero, Alfred Moses and Kurt Wainman.

Hay River

Kandis Jameson will be returning to the position of mayor after she was acclaimed for it.

The elected councillors are Robert Bouchard, Emily Chambers, Keith Dohey, Linda Duford, Jeffrey Groenewegen, Peter Magill, Karen Wall and Brian Willows.

Fort Simpson

Sean Whelly will serve another term as mayor.

The elected councillors are Troy Bellefontaine, Cynthia Browning, Kyle Christiansen, Rosemary Gill, Muaz Hassan, Liza McPherson, James Tsetso and Leslie Wright.

According to results, the community 28 per cent voter turn out.

About the Author

Mariah Caruso
Mariah Caruso is a digital journalist, originally from Toronto, Canada. She graduated from the University of Toronto with a Hons. Bachelor of Arts and completed her Journalism post-grad at Sheridan College. She has an insatiable appetite for life, storytelling, connecting to the people, and getting to the heart of the issue. Mariah is excited to begin her journey and career in Yellowknife, NWT, and get involved with the community. If you have a story idea, feel free to send her an email at mariah.caruso@cklbradio.com