Community elections begin in Fort Smith, Norman Wells, Inuvik, Fort Simpson and Hay River

(Image retrieved from Pexels)

Today is election day in Fort Smith, Norman Wells, Inuvik, Fort Simpson and Hay River; and residents are gearing up to choose the best-suited candidate.  Some mayor and chief positions have already been filled.

Residents are asked to remember COVID-19 protocols when heading out to the polls.


Ken Kyikavichik is the Gwich’in grand chief and he encourages residents to get out and excersise their civic duty.

“If you would like to see a stronger land claim organization and community you will step up for the challenge. We need community-minded people who will work for our participants, with the GTC and other organizations to move our interests forward,” he says in a social media post.

Residents living west of Reliance Street will need to vote at the Ingamo Hall Friendship Centre, while residents living east of Reliance Street will need to vote a the Midnight Sun Complex.

Polling stations opened at 10 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Clarence Wood has been acclaimed as mayor. Ex-Mayor Natasha Kulikowski is running for council.

Council candidates:

  • Donovan Arey
  • Tony Devlin
  • Ruth Elanik
  • Jesse Harder
  • Jillian Fitzpatrick
  • Grant Gowans
  • Natasha Kulikowski
  • Desmond Loreen
  • Alana Mero
  • Alfred Moses
  • Kurt Wainman


  • Jennifer Costa
  • James Ruttan

If residents have any questions regarding nominations can call Shawna Nerysoo at 867-952-2431.

Fort Simpson

Residents of Fort Simpson will also be able to vote for town hall positions today.

Voting will take place at the recreation centre between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.

  • Celine Antoine
  • Troy Bellefontaine
  • Cynthia Browning
  • Walter Blondin
  • Charles Blyth
  • Kyle Christiansen
  • John Dempsey
  • Rosemary Gill
  • Kirby Groat
  • Muaz Hassan
  • Liza McPherson
  • Chris Snider
  • Randal Sibbetson
  • James Tsetso
  • Leslie Wright

District education authority (DEA):

  • Troy Bellefontaine
  • Julia Anne Erasmus
  • Travis Hanna
  • Muaz Hassan
  • Renalyn Pascua-Matte
  • Ray Michaud
  • Brendan Whelly

Hay River

Residents can vote for town council at the community hall between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.

  • Robert Bouchard
  • Kimberly Brockway
  • Emily Chambers
  • Keith Dohey
  • Linda Duford
  • Jeffrey Groenewegen
  • Keanan Kipling
  • Peter Magill
  • Karen Wall
  • Brian Willows


  • Nikki Ashton
  • Mark Harris
  • Glen McPhee
  • Pennie Pokiak
  • Annette Rupert

Fort Smith

Voting will take place at the community recreation centre between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.

Jessica Cox and Fred Daniels are running for mayor.

  • Louise Beaulieu
  • Kevin Campbell
  • Michael Couvrette
  • Dana Fergusson
  • Kevin Heron
  • Don Jaque
  • Al Karasiuk
  • Dianna Korol
  • Jay MacDonald
  • Lynn Napier
  • Ann Pischinger
  • Athena Sharp
  • Kevin Smith
  • Leonard Tuckey


  • Laura Aubrey
  • Rebecca Cabell
  • Hilary Turko
  • Roger Vail

Norman Wells

Residents will be able to vote at the community hall between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.

  • Dorathy Alberta
  • Pascal Audet
  • Chris Chivers
  • Heidi Hodgson
  • Kacee Hunter
  • Carol Lorentz
  • Kelly McCoy
  • Timothy Melnyk
  • Alexis Peachy
  • Trevor Smith
  • David Wever


  • Dorathy Alberta
  • Shannon Audet
  • Sarah Baker
  • Danielle Crawford
  • Heidi Hodgson
  • Shauna Spilchak
  • Tamara McNeely
  • Katrina Rose

CKLB will update the article with the results as soon as they are available.

About the Author

Mariah Caruso
Mariah Caruso is a digital journalist, originally from Toronto, Canada. She graduated from the University of Toronto with a Hons. Bachelor of Arts and completed her Journalism post-grad at Sheridan College. She has an insatiable appetite for life, storytelling, connecting to the people, and getting to the heart of the issue. Mariah is excited to begin her journey and career in Yellowknife, NWT, and get involved with the community. If you have a story idea, feel free to send her an email at