LKFN election candidates announced

(File photo/CKLB)

Łı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́ First Nation has announced the candidates in its upcoming election for chief and council.

Five people are vying to replace outgoing Chief Gerald Antoine, who recently put his name forward to become Dene National Chief.

Below is the full list of candidates.


  • Kele Charles Antoine
  • Olinto Beaulieu
  • William MC Michaud
  • Herb Norwegian
  • Hilda Tsetso


  • William Alger
  • James Antoine
  • Brandon Bugghins
  • Cheryl Mary Cli
  • Bianca Gargan
  • Betty Hardisty
  • Jarret Hardisty
  • Jenny Cazon Hempler
  • Stephen Jose
  • Brian Martineau
  • Ernest McPherson
  • Lorraine Menicoche-Moses
  • Catherine Nahanni
  • Ashton Peterson

There will be a public forum held on Aug. 17, at 7 p.m. at the recreation centre.

Election day is Aug. 23 with and advanced poll on Aug. 19

About the Author

Francis Tessier-Burns
Francis has been a general news reporter with CKLB since January 2019. Originally from rural Ontario, he first came to the NWT in 2016 as an intern with Up Here magazine and fell in love with the North. In his time with CKLB, he's had the immense pleasure and honour of learning about northern Indigenous cultures. Otherwise, you can find him hanging around the Legislative Assembly. If you have a story or want to chat, reach out to