Candidate forums coming up for Tłı̨chǫ community governments election

(File photo/CKLB)

It is election season for Tłı̨chǫ governments in the NWT.

On June 14 residents of Behchokǫ̀, Whatì, Gamètì and Wekweètì will head to the polls to elect their chiefs and community council members.

This Saturday, May 29, there will be an all-candidates public forum in Behchokǫ̀ at 1 p.m. at the Kǫ̀ Gocho Centre. There will be options available for people to watch via Zoom.

There is also an all-candidates forum in Whatì from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the culture centre.

Running for Chief of Behchokǫ̀ is Clifford Daniels, Leon Lafferty, Cody Mantla, Rosa H. Mantla and Christopher Zoe. Thirty residents put their name forward to be council members, making it by far the busiest riding on Tłı̨chǫ land.

Running for Chief of Whatì is Mary Ann Jeremick’ca, Joseph Moosenose and Alfonz Nitsiza. Fifteen other residents put their name forward to be councillors.

Running for Chief of Gamètì is Doreen Ann Arrowmaker and Frank Arrowmaker. Twelve residents are running to be councillors. Current Chief David Wedawin has dropped out from the running and no reason has been given. Twelve people are vying for six councillor positions.

In the quietest riding of Wekweètì, Charles Football and Adeline Football are running for chief. Initially, only three members of the community put their names forward to be councillors, leaving one position open. The community extended the date of accepting council candidates to May 25. Since then, Gordon Judas and Patrick Tom have also put their name forward, bringing the total to five candidates for four positions.

About the Author

Brett McGarry
Brett is a digital and broadcast reporter for CKLB Radio. He has been living in Yellowknife since January of 2019 after moving from Ontario. He graduated from Humber College and has worked for NNSL Media. You can reach him at