Two Yellowknife nursing students selected for $20,000 scholarship

(File photo).

Two Yellowknife third-year Aurora College nursing students, Erica Abel and Marisa McArthur, will receive the 2020 Edets’seèhdzà Studentship of $20,000.

“The Edets’seèhdzà Studentship will support two nursing students to be meaningfully involved in health and wellness research in the NWT,” Dr. John B. Zoe, Hotıì ts’eeda governing council chair said.

According to a news release, Hotıì ts’eeda provides funding for the Edets’seèhdzà Studentship award in partnership with Aurora College.

Both Abel and McArthur will be working with Aurora Research Institute Manager of Health Research Programs Dr. Pertice Moffitt on a three-year collaborative project looking at Indigenous maternal healthcare in Canada.

The release stated, Abel is a member of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation who plans “to aid those who require medical assistance and to possess both sides of the modern and traditional teachings in healing” while keeping her Northern roots. McArthur believes that “locally-driven Indigenous health research has the power to cultivate meaningful change in the communities in which we live.”

McArthur says in the release that she looks forward to working on the Indigenous health-research project.

“The opportunity to engage in health-related research while pursuing studies provides Aurora College students a rich opportunity to anchor learning in Northern communities,” said Andy Bevan, president of Aurora College.

Allison Forbes who is an Aurora College nursing student received last year’s Edets’seèhdzà Studentship. Forbes spent last summer working on research related to actions against family violence.

To learn more visit:



About the Author

Arthur C. Green
Arthur C. Green is from Whitbourne Newfoundland and graduated from the CNA Journalism Program. Arthur also studied Business Marketing and Political Science at Memorial University in Essex England and St. John's Newfoundland. Green has worked as a spot news photographer/journalist with such news organizations as Vista-radio, CBC, CBC Radio, NTV, Saltwire and Postmedia in Alberta.