Sebert the lone Minister to receive
non-confidence vote

Members of the 18th Assembly cast their votes in the first Midterm Review since the 12th Assembly.

Thebacha MLA and Justice Minister Louis Sebert. (Photo Northern Journal)

“Members have expressed non-confidence in the performance and leadership of Minister Louis Sebert,” announced Speaker Jackson Lafferty after the first Midterm Review of the 18th Legislative Assembly.

Yellowknife Centre MLA Julie Green says she’s not happy that Cabinet ministers announced they would not resign regardless of the vote.

“I don’t think they were respecting the process in saying that. I am a little surprised with the result, I thought more than one cabinet minister would’ve lost confidence, but the people have voted and that’s the last word on it,” said Green on Thursday.

Meanwhile Premier Bob McLeod said there would be “anarchy if Cabinet solidarity was broken.” He says there will have to be another motion voted on to establish if Sebert is to resign.

“If the a verification motion is passed, to remove him, them we’ll have to deal with it at that time,” McLeod told reporters on Thursday.

Sebert nor any other cabinet minister were available for comment after the vote.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Josh Campbell has returned to the CKLB News Team. He covered female university soccer and volleyball in New Brunswick, prior to graduating from Loyalist College in Mohawk Territory near Belleville, Ontario in 2007. He's covered politics and Indigenous stories in both the NWT and Yukon over the last 10 years.

Be the first to comment on "Sebert the lone Minister to receive
non-confidence vote"

Leave a comment