New Chief and Council Elected to Deline Gotine Self-Government

Although their terms of office don’t start until September, Deline has elected a new council and chief.

While Chief Leonard Kenny did not seek re-election, his predecessor Raymond Tutcho will return to lead the Sahtu community as it continues to implement it’s self-government agreement. Tutcho defeated another former Chief, Raymond Taneton for the top job.

Joining Tutcho on council are: Danny Bayha, Freda Taneton, Tommy Betsidea, Morris Neyelle, Raymond Taneton, and Jane Modeste. They will meet with Chief Kenny and the outgoing council this afternoon to start the transition period.

CKLB is awaiting official results from Returning Officer Kirk Dolphus, and hopes to speak with the new Chief elect.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Josh Campbell has returned to the CKLB News Team. He covered female university soccer and volleyball in New Brunswick, prior to graduating from Loyalist College in Mohawk Territory near Belleville, Ontario in 2007. He's covered politics and Indigenous stories in both the NWT and Yukon over the last 10 years.