Fort McPherson Mayor and Hamlet Council take office in March

The official results from last week’s Hamlet election in Fort McPherson are in.

8 out of 10 candidates for council were elected.

Joining Mayor Elizabeth Vittrekwa on council are:
Shaylene Allen, James Andre, Marion Koe, Robert Greenland, Ruby McDonald, Ashtyn McLeod, Dwayne Noseworthy, and Dennis Wright.

They will be sworn-in, in March.

According to the certificate of results, the voter turnout last Monday was low at only 47 per cent.

Only six ballots were reported as spoiled, from the 257 cast.

The election was re-scheduled from December after two candidates were listed as in-eligible to run.

About the Author

Josh Campbell
Josh Campbell has returned to the CKLB News Team. He covered female university soccer and volleyball in New Brunswick, prior to graduating from Loyalist College in Mohawk Territory near Belleville, Ontario in 2007. He's covered politics and Indigenous stories in both the NWT and Yukon over the last 10 years.

Be the first to comment on "Fort McPherson Mayor and Hamlet Council take office in March"

Leave a comment